How to Become a Real Estate Agent in North Carolina
Learn how to get a real estate broker license in 4 easy steps. The career of your dream is more attainable than ever with FastPass Learning.
Most frequent questions and answers
Enroll with FastPass Learning and Pass the Pre-license Course
To obtain a real estate license and become a real estate broker in North Carolina, you are required to complete a 75-hour prelicensing course.
This course will teach you everything you need to know about real estate, and it will prepare you to pass the North Carolina real estate licensing exam. FastPass Learning offers a great broker pre-licensing online course that is perfect for individuals who have a busy schedule or need the flexibility that an online course can provide them.
Cost: $399, all-inclusive tuition with FastPass Learning
Complete your Background Check
The North Carolina Real Estate Commission requires that all applicants complete a background check. This process was made very simple by the NCREC so your criminal report can be obtained online by clicking here.
Cost: $15 or more depending if you’ve lived in various states in the last 7 years, payable directly to NCREC Criminal Record Checks
Submit your Application
Once you’ve successfully completed the 75-hour prelicensing course and obtained your background check, you will need to apply for your real estate license by filling out a State Licensing Application. Applying for your license is very easy and can be done entirely online on the Commission’s website here. Once you’ve filed the application and paid the fee, you will be able to schedule your real estate exam. You will have up to three years to take North Carolina licensing exam.
Cost: $100, payable directly to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission when submitting your application
North Carolina Real Estate License Cost Summary
Schedule and Pass the North Carolina State Licensing Exam
Scheduling your licensing exam is simple and can be done online on PSI’s website, the official exam provider. The North Carolina Real Estate
Broker licensing exam consists of two portions:
The National portion where you’ll have to answer 71 out of the 100 multiple-choice questions (A, B, C, D) correctly in 150 minutes or 2.5 hours.
The State portion where you’ll have to answer 29 out of 40 multiple-choice questions (A, B, C, D) correctly in 90 minutes or 1.5 hours.
The NC Real Estate broker pre-license course will prepare you for the exam, but additional preparation is always recommended. FastPass
Learning offers a great exam prep course that covers both the National and State portions of the exam.
Cost: $56, payable directly to PSI Online when scheduling the exam
4 Steps to Become a Real Estate Broker in NC
✔ Be at least 18 years of age
✔ No high school diploma required
✔ Be a US citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the United States and be authorized to work in the US real estate field.
There are many reasons why pursuing a career in real estate can be the right decision for you. Here are three reasons why you should start your real estate career today!
Achieve success without a college degree
You don’t need to have a college degree to make a good living, and being a real estate broker can allow you to do just that. Successful real estate brokers often achieve a very high level of financial success. Your education does not have to define the level of success you can obtain.
Become your own boss
As a real estate broker, you will become your own boss and be able to make your own schedule. You will get to decide when you work and how much you work. Your success in the real estate industry is entirely up to you, and you’ll also get to reap all the benefits.
Expand your network like never before
Real estate brokers often meet with clients, colleagues and other business professionals during their daily activities. This work environment gives you a lot of exposure to a lot of different people which can considerably expand your professional and personal network.
Background Check/Criminal Record
Starting at $15
State Licensing Application
NC State Licensing Exam