top of page

North Carolina's Real Estate License Reciprocity with Other States

North Carolina license reciprocity

North Carolina simplifies the process for individuals holding an active real estate license from any U.S. state, its territories, or Canada. Unlike formal reciprocity agreements, North Carolina adopts a "limited license recognition" approach.

This allows those with an active license from another state within the past three years to bypass the 75-hour pre-license course requirement. Instead, they only need to pass the state-specific exam to obtain their North Carolina real estate license.

Here's a more detailed look at how it works and what it entails for applicants:

Limited License Recognition

Unlike traditional reciprocity, where states have formal agreements allowing real estate licensees to transfer their licenses with minimal additional requirements, North Carolina's model is slightly different. It doesn't require a bilateral agreement with other states but instead acknowledges the validity of an active real estate license from elsewhere, under certain conditions.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for this streamlined process, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  1. Active License: The applicant must have a current real estate license in active status from any U.S. state, territory, or Canada. This ensures that only those who are already vetted and licensed in another jurisdiction can apply.

  2. Recent Practice: The license must have been active within the three years prior to applying in North Carolina. This requirement ensures that applicants have recent experience and are likely up to date with the latest real estate practices and laws.

Waived Requirements

Eligible applicants benefit from a significant reduction in the initial licensing requirements. Specifically:

  • Pre-License Education : Normally, individuals seeking a real estate license in North Carolina must complete a 75-hour pre-license course. However, those qualifying under limited license recognition can have this requirement waived, acknowledging their prior education and experience in real estate.

Remaining Requirements

Despite the waiver for pre-license education, applicants must still fulfill other licensing requirements, notably:

  • State-Specific Exam: Applicants are required to pass the North Carolina state-specific portion of the real estate licensing exam. This ensures that they have sufficient knowledge of North Carolina's real estate laws, regulations, and practices, which may differ from those in their original licensing jurisdiction.

Application Process

The application process involves submitting proof of the current and active license from another state, along with any other required documentation, to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. Applicants must then register for and pass the state-specific portion of the exam.


North Carolina's limited license recognition approach facilitates the mobility of real estate professionals into the state, acknowledging their qualifications and experience while ensuring they are equipped with state-specific knowledge. This system benefits both the professionals, by simplifying their transition, and the state, by attracting experienced real estate practitioners.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page